Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phones, online games, and social networking Web sites.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Hearing teachers complain about the difficulty to educate children is not rare today, since the development of technology has brought diversified types of distraction to children. However, if we can apply these technologies appropriately, may be educating children can be much easier than before. Thus, I disagree with the statement that educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past.

To begin with, it is true that children now have a lot of distractions, such as smart phones, online games, and social medias, which can significantly impede children's education. Of course, I am one of those children too. I remember when I was elementary school student, counter strike was a cool online game to me. To be a cool kid within my group, I spent considerable time on practicing my shooting skill. Though I still had good academic performance, my teachers still contacted my parents and warned them that I had spent too much time on online games, so I could not focus in the class.

However, these distractions can actually be used as teaching tools. Since our brains can easily be addicted to rewards, designing educational games can provide instant positive effects to children. In that way, they will be more willing to study. For example, I am a person who can be easily distracted, so traditional ways of education may not have significant effects on me. As a result, I often looked for educational gaming apps to learn new knowledge. Under this circumstance, I could focus on studying longer than in the class.

Moreover, with the developments of technology, educating children is no longer confined in the classroom. Teachers today can record the video or design some games and upload them to the Internet. So that children can not only enjoy the process of learning, but can learn at any time and any place. These technologies actually offer more options for teachers to educate children.

To sum up, despite it is the fact that children today can be easily distracted, if teacher can embrace these distractions and use them properly, I believe educating children can be much easier than before.