Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The extended family grandparents cousins aunts and uncles is less important now than it was in the past

In these days, with the advancements and technologies and growth of populations, people tend to have less kids and as a result the number of families declined, whereas we had more persons in families in the past. Some people believe that having grandparents and a lot of cousins and uncles is better for them since they can have more close relatives that support them, while others disagree with this notion and think that it is less important to have more family members now than in the past. I am of the opinion of the latter. I will elaborate on why I feel this way in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the societies became so complex now and people are adapted to its circumstances, which leads to having less kids in the family. Additionally, the expenses are so high and burdensome, so that people prefer to have one or two kids. As a result, the number of families declined and kids find themselves in a situation that they have fewer cousins and aunts than in the past. Moreover, children adapted to this and they can make friends with other peoples and get help from them whenever possible. In this way, people can substitute their relatives with other people and talk to them. For example, I have only one aunt and no uncle and few cousins, but I could find friends that even we can talk whenever I am in need of help or trouble. They help me in my hard times, so they are close to me and they are like my own family. Hence, we can get support from other people and substitute them to our kinfolk.

Second of all, with the advancements of technologies and having big cities, it is easier to participate in different activities and have social life and make friends that have more common characteristics. In this way, people can attend universities and have a life and broaden their circle of people that is more close to them instead of just being relatives. For example, I have friends that have more common things to share with than my close relatives and I spend most of my times with them instead of the family members. In addition, I enjoy spending my time with my friends than family.

To put it all in a nutshell, I believe that nowadays it is less important to have extended families because societies are so complex now and people adapted to its situations and have less kids, so they can make friends. Also, close friends have more common things and they can fill the gap of the relatives even better.