Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

Knowledge is facts, information, and skills acquired by an individual through experience and education, and there is no debate that they have increasingly become crucial. However, a controversial topic regarding knowledge is whether it is best to have deep knowledge of a specific subject or broad knowledge of every subject. No one can deny that each of the options has its own good and bad aspects, but if I were forced to choose, I affirm that having profound knowledge about one particular topic is the best, and I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the subsequent paragraphs.

I have to admit that my view on knowledge has been tremendously influenced by the life of my older sister, who currently works as a flight attendant at Qatar Airlines. Since middle school, she has always had an interest in working as a flight attendant since she travels often with my parents, enjoys learning about the wide range of Asian and Latin cultures, and finds their role essential. Since she knew what she wanted to be at a young age, she was able to focus on it, making her future path clear. On the other side, I still do not know what I want to be when I grow up or even major in university. According to recent studies, college students come to university unprepared and explore a variety of career opportunities, delaying their plans. Thus, focusing on a specific matter allows one to have a clear path in life.

On top of that, specializing in an area can help them become the best in that field. Drawing on my experience, I grew up learning how to play the flute, and since it was my peak interest, I solely focused on mastering it. I have practiced it for fourteen years, and I am known as the Flute Master in my school; hence, I often play it in numerous school events like the Christmas Concert and the Narnia Play. Since I focused my whole attention on the flute, I could master it, which would not have been possible if I had aimed to practice all the instruments that exist today.

To wrap up, when one has a particular job like chemical engineering, other knowledge becomes useless. As an illustration, my chemical professor explained to me that although I am not the best in chemistry, it does not matter since I am talented in other courses like English literature and language. He emphasized that everyone has unique talents that should be developed rather than ignored while focusing on other issues that are unrelated to their current and future circumstances.

To sum up, in light of the reasons I mentioned, it is best to specialize in a certain topic than to have general information.