Even though there is a widely held notion that being expert in a specific subject can guarantee the future academic success for people, I subscribe to the view that having a wide range of knowledge and experience is more beneficial. My reasons for supporting this hypothesis are organized as follows.

First of all, being specialized in a single subject will probably lead to having a single career for a lifetime; In my opinion, it can be boring or even frustrating to have a specific vocation for a long time and performing some repetitious tasks on a daily basis. On the other hand, individuals who have different abilities often work in different cultures and have a more exciting life due to the diversity of their accomplishments.

Furthermore, not only will not having broad expertise restrict job opportunities for individuals, but it provides them with numerous fields which they can pursue based on their preference as well. The reason is that it is not necessary to be an expert to start a profession. Conversely, I believe that people can begin a job as a junior, and subsequently, they could become more and more senior in their position. Instead, in the beginning, they would analyze and choose their career with wisdom, being familiar with an immense range of areas with which they are familiar.

Finally, people must be cautious about the issue that their desires and preferences might change when they become older, and as a result, their current vocation might not satisfy them. In this case, if they had a narrow but deep knowledge and expertise in a particular area, they would be confined to their profession. However, having a general academic knowledge would alleviate the pain of switching one's vocation when they decide to move on and change their discipline. For example, I was working several years in the field of mobile communication after my graduation from university. However, since I predicted that this area would not correspond to my abilities, I changed my work and went to another company in the field of Artificial Intelligence. The transition happened abruptly due to my experience in Artificial Intelligence area, which I gained through my side studies when I was a student.

With all being said, I draw a conclusion that it would be more appropriate to have experience and academic background in several fields because that would make us choose our career more intelligently, and also, we could shift our directions more easily whenever we find such a shift necessary.