Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science.” Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Educational institutions adopt different approaches when it comes to course priority for their students. Some schools are of the opinion that science and mathematics are more important than grammar and literature. However, I believe that exposing students to both science and literature is equally important. I feel this way for many reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, the sole purpose of education is teaching students the basic principles of almost everything. Most students before college are still deciding on their future and hence, they need to look into a wide variety of fields to discover their potential. Once they choose the field that intrigues them, they could, then, focus more on that subject. My own experience is a compelling evidence on what I mean. In the first year of high school in my home country, I studied many courses such as biology, chemistry, physics and also literature and philosophy introductions. by the second year, I realized that I enjoy natural sciences more than literature. Thus, I later focused my career in the medical profession. Had I not been exposed to both branches of knowledge, I would have never reached the right choice that suits my actual passion.

Second, science, including math, and literature are both required for any job or career. People working in literature and art has to maintain a basic understanding of calculations and universal phenomena. For instance, a science fiction writer would need to keep track of the recent scientific discoveries and inventions. In addition, most science-related tasks demand a certain degree of literary knowledge. A personal example is when I started working as a pharmacist for the government. I had to write many evaluation reports for the management, which definitely called for some hands-on experience in writing. On top of that, when I wanted to get transferred to another medical center, I had to write a detailed request for my supervisor ensuring this request to be in an impressive language so that he would look into it and allow me to get transferred. Since I had an idea of how to compose an eye-catching phrases, I never found it hard to communicate on the job.

In conclusion, students should get in touch with as many topics as they could during their learning trip. This is because by this way, they could unearth their talent and acquire a wide range of skills which will help them in their job hunting future.