Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the mentioned statement that says that it is more important to keep the old friends that it is to make new friends. I have few reasons to hold this opinion.

First of all, your old friends are usually from your school or high school. You have already spent a good time together and after graduation, everyone gets busy in their own lives. It's difficult to make time after the end of school to explicitly meet your friends. And since, everyone has a new life to look upto, you are not able to stay in as much contact like you would on a daily basis when you were in school. If we keep holding on to our old friends, when they are not with us, we will feel lonely and would get depressed. For example, I had a friend named John who would always have hangout and was friends with only three other people from our class. Now, since all his three friends have moved to different cities, he had become very lonely after they left since he didn't know how to make new friens. So, completely relying on old friends forever is not a very good idea I feel.

Secondly, I think making new friends in every walk of your life helps you expand your connection and have a variety of friends from your different parts of life. For example, if you go for yoga or gym, you will have friends there which are your companions during your exercise. You have fun with them and workout at the same time. Also, you will have a differnt circle of friends at your office - these will resonate with your career perspective and also you may have a different friends from a charity club you are part of. Therefore, having a variety of friends in every part of your life helps you have better connections and not completely rely on a specific circle if you wish to hangout.

Furthermore, I feel that nobody is your permanent ally except your family. What I mean to say is your family is the one which is going to stand by you in difficult times and be really happy in your happiness. And giving such a great importance to certain friends in your life can sometimes prove to be disappointing as well. For example, I had a best friend in my high school. We used to stay together and have fun a lot. But, later when got to know that I got an opportunity to study abroad, she got jealous and suddenly stopped contacting me. So, I feel no one except your family is your true friend in that sense.

Therefore, using the above examples and explanantions I would like to conclude that having new friends in every walk of your life is truly important. If we keep attached to the old ones, our perspective of the world would not broaden and more importantly we will not be able to enjoy new variety and explore as much. So, you should always make new friends and broaden your connection to live to the fullest.