Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Physical exercise is more important to older people than to young people

Health has long been a hotly topic on societal issues. There are multiple approaches to keep ourselves in good nick. It is controversial that either young people or old people are more proper to do physical exercise. In my view, physical exercise is of equal important not only for the elderly but also for the younger people, especially those sedentary workers.

First of all, compared with the aged people, younger people like desk-bound laborers lack time to take physical exercise. The aged people who are already enjoying their retirement life are more likely to have a chance to stretch their bodies at a park downstairs. However, the time these workers spend on exercise is limited since they have to work during the day. For instance, in China, there is a working mode called “996”, meaning that you have to start working at 9 in the morning and work until the other 9 in the evening, and constantly work for six days a week. Under such a burdensome schedule, workers are already physically and mentally exhausted. But their need for exercising is still there. It is hard for them to squeeze exercise into their calendars. Therefore, physical exercise is more urgent for this group of people.

Besides, by constantly exposing to the status of high competitions and pressure, young people are more likely at risk of physical and mental diseases. The study, conducted by World Health Organization (WHO), revealed that the age of having cancers is becoming younger. And further investigations state that the number of lung cancers amongst people under 45 has significant increase over these two decades The most contributing factor to this is smoking, which is highly related to anxiety and other negative moods. And doing exercise has been proven as an effective method against depression and mental diseases. Thus, the young generation really needs to take physical exercise regularly.

Last, young generations are lack of the awareness of exercising. The aged people who have some diseases when they were young understand the importance of keeping fit so that they will stick to exercise as part of their daily life. However, young people are likely to have a lower value of physical exercise. This is mainly because they may think that they are still young and do not need to pay attention to their health. But it is too late to be aware of diseases.

To sum up, according to the aforementioned reasons, I strongly think that physical exercise for young people is as important as for the elderly.