Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

It is generally believed that friends are more influential in students life when compared to educators. However,in my opinion, I agree that teachers play a major role in influencing students. I feel this way for one main reason, which I explore in the following essay.

To begin with, teachers are the foundation of young people’s behavior. So, they strive hard to role-model what an appropriate behaviour would look like. For instance, if a teacher models how to help someone in need in the class, the student imitates and helps others in the society. For instance, when I was in a senior secondary, we had a student that was differently abled because of cerebral palsy and moves around the classroom using a wheel- chair. Every day, our teacher helped that student to be included in the classroom by making changes in the seating plan, delivers differentiated lesson and assisted with motor skills. By watching the teacher performing many tasks for that student, most of the students in the classroom also started to help that student as well. Since, the teacher is the centre of attention in the classroom setting the student that watches her behaviour , learnt to imitate that behaviour even outside of the classroom .As a result, our classroom won a good Samaritan award that was awarded to a classroom that adapts helping behaviour.

On the other hand, if a student is influenced by their peers, they end up in unacceptable behaviours in many ways. For instance, high school students nowadays have lots of peer pressure to show off in the classroom. So, they perform various activities to impress others. For instance, recently there has been a rise in the use of vape (an harmful drug) among high school student in our community school. As a result, the school lost a student. After school administration got into causes of this issue, they found out, this started as a game among friends in order to challenge who can smoke more vape in a day. This affected student’s brain because of lack of oxygen and lost his life in the battle. In this scenario, friends that influenced negatively caused a student’s life. This detrimental situation clearly shows how friends influence negatively. So, it is more advisable not to depend on friends as they are not matured enough to differentiate between good and bad habits and they don’t take things seriously.

In conclusion, it is more agreeable that teachers influence students positively in the classroom in order to produce a better citizen for the society, rather than friends that influence negatively.