Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than their friends.

There is a controversial debate about people who have the most influence on students. Some groups of people may hold the view that teacher have significant influence on students. However, other groups may have different views and feel that friend are more influential. In my vantage point, I am concur with the latter group because of the age difference, and the relative closeness to each other.

First, students are influenced by the people who spend with them lots of time. Teacher may influence some students because of their charisma and look. However, they are relatively of far distance to students Close friends may be together for seven hours a day and six days a week. Thus, such long period of exposure makes them influenced by one another. For instance, during school, I spend lots of time with my close friend. As a result, he had so much influence on m. So, Inspite of being away from each other after graduation for 20 years, I still go to visit him in London, and we plan our vacation together. Moreover, because of this close relationship, Surprisingly, we both studied the same subject and we end up working in the same field.

Secondly, students are influenced with people of their same age. A teacher may have influence a student by skills. However, teachers are much older than students.This gap in age, creates a distance between the teacher and the student, which eventually leads to a temporary influence. Therefore, while the influence by students is permanent, the influence by teachers is short living. A good example to show my viewpoint is my relationship with my friend. Because of our age proximity, our friendship lasted for a long period of time.

Finally, the aforementioned points are the first to cross my mind at a glance. However, it is by no mean the only reason I hold this view. In fact, there is another subtle reason, which a study that the conducted in the school journal, which revealed that, friend do influence each other in a significant way. The study was conducted on 120 students from different schools inorder to prevent any bias in result.

To wrap up, contemplating the aforementioned reason, one realizes that student become influence by people who are most close to them. Moreover, the closer the age to one another, the more influenced they are.