Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students can learn as much by watching movies as they can learn by reading books.

There is no doubt that books are an excellent source of knowledge. Providing in-depth information on a variety of topics, they can be used to learn about history, science, and other academic subjects. Some may claim that only by reading books can students learn much knowledge, while others contend that movies can be just as educational as books. However, as for me, I am inclined to side with the latter.

To begin with, movies can be more engaging than books. Reading, in fact, can be boring sometimes. Many people find it difficult to sit down and read for a long period of time. Movies, on the other hand, are much more appealing, since they are visual and often include action and suspense, which can hold a viewer’s attention for the entire duration. As a result, movies can be more memorable than books. This is helpful for people, especially students, who need to remember much information for exams or papers. For example, a student who watches a documentary about Civil Rights Movement is likely to remember more details from the documentary than from the history textbook. He or she can see what the Great March on Washington looked like, hear Martin Luther King’s ‘I have a dream’, and feel the enormous enthusiasm back then. It is with these visuals and sound that the documentary brings the history to life, an effect that could never be achieved by reading books. In addition, movies are generally more entertaining than books, so we are more likely to pay attention to them and remember what we have seen.

Not only are films more attractive and impressive, but they can also cover a lot of grounds in a short amount of time. A typical feature-length movie can tell a story that would take hundreds of pages to tell in a book, an advantage that is especially helpful for students who have short attention spans or who are trying to learn about a particular subject but have a limited amount of time. Take the masterpiece ‘To Kill a Mockingbird ‘ as an example. In the book, the reader is given a detailed and intimate look at the characters and their lives in the small town of Maycomb, Alabama during the 1930s. The story is told from the perspective of Scout, a young girl who is witness to the trial of a black man accused of raping a white woman. While the book provides a lot of information about the characters and the town, it is limited to Scout's perspective. In the film adaptation of the book, the viewer is given a much broader view of the town and its inhabitants. We see the events of the story through the eyes of several different characters, including Atticus Finch, the father of Scout. This allows us to see the events of the story from different points of view and to get a better understanding of the characters and their motivations. If there were no movie edition of the book, audience would not be able to learn so much.

Admittedly, there are also some drawbacks to using movies as a learning tool. For example, they can be expensive, and it can be difficult to find ones that are appropriate for all ages. However, if the appropriate movies can be identified, they can be a valuable learning tool for students, just as effective as books.