Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, most of the businesses are based on teamwork and overall success of a group often depends on whether or not its members can cooperate effectively. Personally, I think that in order to succeed at a workplace, employees have to be capable of getting along with co-workers rather than studying hard in school. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To start with, deep knowledge can be obtained only through personal experience. If a person is able to communicate well with his seasoned colleagues, he can learn from them about details of his job. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. After graduation from a pharmacy school, I thought that I knew a lot about my profession since I was a brilliant student. However, when I first started working in a pharmacy, I found out that I had no idea about how to resolve numerous problems with insurance companies, which was a crucial part of my job. Fortunately, my ability to relate well to people helped me to establish great relationships with more experienced co-workers and learn from them how to process claims to insurance companies in detail. If I had not had the ability to socialize easily, I would not have become a great professional.

Secondly, the ability to get along with colleagues can help to maintain a positive environment in a workplace and achieve wonderful outcomes. For example, a job of a pharmacist can be truly stressful because pharmacies are often very busy, especially during a winter season when citizens have a cold and flu. In this way, customers can be angry and aggressive. At such moments supportive from associates can help to overcome stress and keep working. That is why I often make jokes and tell funny stories to my pharmacy technicians, so they can mentally relax and continue doing their job. As a result, all of my teammates are always in a positive mood and our pharmacy is one of the best in a company.

To conclude, I strongly believe that it is more important for people to be able to interact with others weel rather that study intensively in school. This is because it can help them to grow professionally and overcome stress at a workplace.