Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There has been a constant drumbeat that whether the number of cars will decrease in the future. From my perspective, firmly agree with the opinion and I will elaborate on my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

Admittedly, Some individuals hold the point that with the rapid rate of population, the need for the car will definitely boost and people will purchase the product. However, with the increasing and high-competitive development of modern society, the younger generation starts to consider cars as unnecessary compared to other products to maintain living quality. Thus, demand for vehicles is unlikely to increase in the near future.

First, the construction of public transportation will decline the demand for cars. Nowadays, government around the globe starts to pay more attention to the public transportation system which can effectively solve the traffic problems, especially in the urban areas. In early 2020, Oxford University published an investigation about the index of city transportation and the constructions are newly found in recent years. The research demonstrates that urban dwellers tend to utilize public transportation as the main method to travel. Not only reduce the living expense but also save spaces and time searching for a parking spot.

In addition, the current generation begins to gain awareness to protect the environment. Having a vehicle that burns fossil fuel for energy will surely damage the environment and cause air pollution, knowing such a phenomenon discourages the potential customer especially the younger generations not to purchase one. For instance, nowadays youngsters around thirty years old who are financially capable of buying a car tend to chose not to, many of them prefer taking public transportation or walking on foot, even renting a bicycle as a method rather than utilizing a car to transfer.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that the number of cars will decrease in decades, while the more ways to choose from and awareness of protecting the nature atmosphere, the society is unlikely to have more cars in twenty years.