Do you agree or disagree with the following statement When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e mail they will produce better work for the project Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

With the emergence of e-mail, more often than not, many companies choose to use e-mail as the major communication method rather than discussing business problems in person. However, such a method has been questioned for its efficiency. Someone claims that classmates or colleagues communicating about a project in person instead of by e-mail will produce better work. In this regard, that opinion should be scrutinized meticulously. Were I forced to choose, I would prefer the latter point of view rather the former one, and I will elaborate my reasons in the following essay.

The first reason worth mentioning is that communicating through e-mail is much more straightforward and convenient. When a new project is launched, only to put every participant into the e-mail receiver can let them know about the detail of the project, without concerning the awkward situation about how to introduce to someone who is not familiar with. Besides, the number of available meeting rooms in a building is limited, which means sometimes it is hard to appoint a suitable place to discuss when the discussion is necessary. In the contrast, using e-mail to communicate can avoid the losses caused by no schedule for a meeting room.

Furthermore, the fact that e-mail has more digital advantages indicates that it can also be beneficial for work efficiency. Not only e-mails can store more information and files than written notebooks, but they also record the process in detail of a project automatically. Take the case of my internship last summer as an example, I was responsible for an export program when the former colleague who was in charge of it had left our company. This program had been interrupted since last winter, which means my current colleagues could not provide much detail about it. However, with the help of the information recorded in the existed e-mail, I quickly found where the program stopped and what steps should I do next. Had it not been for using e-mail to record the work process, I would spend much more time to finish this program and the profit of my company might also be affected.

A voice arises that communicating with colleagues or classmates in person can be wholesome to strengthen the relationship among them and lead to the improvement of work efficiency. Ironically, this fact does not fit everyone. We will meet uncountable colleagues and friends during studying and working, and it may cost too much time to maintain a kind relationship, which in contrast will reduce the time put into work and study, and finally leads to the drop of our grades or work outcomes. Only adding some kind words in e-mail can be enough to let the people you are working with feel the warmth. Therefore, communicating through e-mail seems a better way compared with discussing in person.

In conclusion, drawing upon the reasons I have mentioned above, I totally disagree with the opinion that communicating with people in person is more efficient. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand people’s eyes, I firmly believe my opponents would yield after being shown to my article.