Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more interested in politics now than they were in the past

Politicians and their decisions have had critical impacts on human societies. But their impacts don’t seem to have a steady trend during the time. In some conditions, such as when a country has an argument with another country, politics get more attention, but in other situations that there is not any dispute in the higher level of authorities, people show a fewer level of attraction to politics. Students as an important part of each society, not only are not apart from the other people in that society, but also have an important effect on others’ thoughts. But In my opinion, their interests in politics, as other people, change regarding public conditions. These changes do not necessarily follow a decreasing or increasing pattern. In what follows, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons which can aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

The most important reason that attracts students (and of course other people) to politics is its role in their current and future life. When there is a condition that authorities should decide an important decision about the future of a society, students are more motivated to follow political arguments. For example, a couple years ago, when the United Kingdom decided to exit from United Europe, there was a high contention between proponents and opponents. In that time, students from both parties came to the streets and declared their opinions. There are also other important decisions that strictly change people’s lives in a society such as the decision to participate in a war or not.

Another reason that attracts students’ attention to political events is awareness of what that currently over on their country and other countries. When there is no information about the inside and outside of a society, there wouldn’t be any attraction to politic. But, when we access to this informations, there would be a motivation to participate in political events such as elections. Today, advances in communication technologies help us to get more and more about what happens in the world of politics. Therefore, it causes a positive effect on students’ tendency to politics.

Unlike the second reason, my third reason has a negative effect on students’ attitude toward politics. Technology progressions such as social networks, network games, virtual realities, and other stuff have brought us attractive things that students prefer to spend more time on them rather on following political events. A few years ago, a network game named clash of clans introduced to the market. In that time, I saw many young people played that game. Most of them were students. They were so attracted in the game that they even hardly had enough time for their courses. In that conditions, no one expected those students get attracted to politics.

In conclusion, students’ attraction to politics changes over time. The most important reason that causes students and other people to follow politics is its effect on their current and future life. There are other reasons that some of them attract students to politics such as awareness of political events and their effects, and some other reasons that have negative effects on students’ political motivation such as technology advances that cause students have fewer time for politics.