There is well-aknowledged that our society is always keeping going and making remarkable progress, such as the Industrial Revolution and the Information Revolution. Due to the contribution to facilitating human beings' daily life, some people hold the viewpoint that progress is always good and positive. Contrary to their opinions is my perspective that progress may have some negative impact under some circumstances.

Among all explicit negative influence of progress in modern society, the most serious one is the air pollution caused by overusing automobiles, which released a huge amount of emissions and exhaust into our atmosphere. Automobiles, serving as an efficient method of transportation, definitely facilitate people's daily life remarkably, like distracting people from the hassle of long-distance journey. However, exhaust generated by cars largely harms environment, with the polluted air being devastating to human and environmental health. For example, virtually all of the modern and metropolitan cities in China suffer from severe smog, resulted from poisonous particles in emissions from traffic, in the winter recently, when the sky is dark and invisiable and citizens cannot go out without wearing well-equipped masks. In this case, residents' life quality is affected sigificantly.

Another primary bad impact of progress lies in the food cultivation. Undoubtedly, pesticides and fertilizer are boost and improve the harvest of farmers, greatly contributing to their increasing income. Nevertheless, some farmers abuse these progress, giving rise to the fact excessive remains of chemicals on plants are consumed by people. Consequently, the health of people is exposed to remarkable threat. For instance, a farmer in South China once overused pesticides and the crops were brought by the local authority. The officials fell ill after eating the food and went to the hospital for several days. Even though the farmer was punished, the harm to the officials could be recovered.

Admittedly, progress does have its merits. For example, with the introduction of technology to the education field, students are the prime beneficiaries, for the reason that they can have access to high-quality education resources.

To summarize, although progress mainly has positive effect, it sometimes may cause some problems and issues, like air pollution and food pollution.