Do you agree or disagree with the statement: people buy things not because of need but because others also buy them.

The world has changed significantly since the explosion of the Information Revolution. Most of the traditional values are on the edge of collapse including the way people buying product. Tied with the emerging convenience supported by the internet, the behavior of shopping has reached to a new level. I do believe that buying a commodity due to its core application is no longer a true purpose.

In the first place, customers consider a product not only by its true value but also by numerous aspects. In fact, the explosion of information has impacted on marketing. It is not simply a pure market as it was in which only customers and manufacturers could be able to balance the supply-demand relationship. In fact, the new era of the internet facilitated the commercial advertisements to spread to every corners of the known world. It becomes easy than ever before for the businesses to approach their potential targets. A series of social network like Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram play an important role as a bridge connecting two sides of supply and demand. Moreover, such kinds of social network did collect our behaviors, interests, or even worse our income level then sold this information to the manufactures. Indeed, we are nothing but the victims trapped inside a gigantic cell of shopping fever. Therefore, the products we decide to buy are actually the results of the information we leaked carelessly. Equally is the fact that the combination of manufactures and social network is a perfect trap to charm us into buying its own products, which have nothing to do with our needs.

On the other hand, we are influenced by others’ behavior. Basically, human formed by herd mentality, individuals imitate other group members of higher social status in their consumer behavior. Hence, we are Inevitably influenced by our idols or celebrities. It is a wise policy for the famous brands to choose the celebrities as their brand ambassadors. For example, Adidas has chosen Ronaldo as its representatives. Afterwards, a series of image relating to Adidas appear daily on his million-follower Instagram and then exaggerate the core value of this product. As a result, thousands of teenagers who consider Ronaldo their idol are contributing to Adidas’s daily revenue. Even if they simply need a $30-shoes to play soccer, they are willing to squander hundreds of dollars on a brand one. It is one of thousands prime examples to prove that we are actually buying what we are not in urgent need of.

In conclusion, buying commodity based on our demands is the story of previous century. The style of “living on the fast lane” in 21st century has trapped customer in an enormous cell of shopping which served manufactures’ revenues. I have no doubt to declare that we are spending money on the products which are not relative to our needs.