Essay topics: TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

I profoundly believe that it is important to be well-informed about world's events even they will not directly impact on my everyday life. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, a problem which today is irrelevant to our life may become a trouble which requires to be taken care of in the future. Probably the best illustration of this idea is international terrorism. In fact, for several decades terrorism was a problem of third world countries and their inner wars. For instance, Taliban was created in Afghanistan after the Soviet Union invaded the country; for more than fifteen years this terroristic organization did not show up in any other part of the world. However, after the USSR gave up, Taliban claimed to be at war with the western countries. Taliban launched a series of attacks in Europe, Asia and the USA. In case, public paid more attention to the organization, its activity there would be a possibility to fight it and even completely annihilate when it was small and weak.

Secondly, we who live in reach and prosperous countries have a responsibility to help people who are in danger because of war or a natural disaster. We live in the world which is interconnected and information flows freely, we may and even must help people who suffer because some day we may be in similar situation. For example, New Zealand is a well-developed country which usually takes part at various rescue missions and which supplies goods for countries which faced a humanitarian disaster. A week ago a strong earthquake has ruined a vast part of New Zealand and now millions of people who are not influenced by the calamity donate money, clothes to help dwellers of the island who undergo difficulties.

Finally, there is a pragmatic reason to be aware of events around the world as well. Events which take place in remoted places of the planet may have indirect impact on bonds, assets and financial market as a whole. Therefore, any person who cares about one's prosperity must look for news in order to make a wise investment or avoid having loses.

To wrap up, we need to be aware of events which take place in the world because we live in the world which is interconnected and event which happened on the opposite side of the globe although may not have an explicit effect on our lives, will have an implicit one. So, we have to disavow from the harmful illusion that we somehow disconnected from the rest of the world. This is the solution to many of our current and future problems.