Imagine that your city government has given permission for a major company to build a large factory near your neighborhood.
Do you think this is a good idea? Why or why not? Explain your position using specific reasons and examples.
A factory in a neighborhood can be a boon or a curse to the surouding region.
Goverments provide incentives to the companies to setup factories in a locality as they provide employment to the people in the region.
I personally feel that granting permission to a major company to set up a factory in my neighbor is a bad idea for the following reasons.
First, factories can be a major source of pollution. This pollution can affect water bodies and decrease air quality. People who consume
these polluted water through rivers and groundwater can become ill. The people who do not have means to afford quality drinking water
are most affected. The agitation by these people to close the existing factories goes in vain. Big companies with their influence
are able to survive even when the people in the locality are againt the factories.
Second, most of the factories in my neighborhood have bad working conditions and also have long working hours with minimal wage.
For example, one of my uncles' works in a manufacturing company that manufactures spare automobile parts. He is provided with
minimal safety gear to work under harsh conditions. He also goes early in the morning and comes late in the night. This routine
will exact a toll on his health in the long run. Some of his seniors have already started facing health complications and the
company casts a blind eye to their suffering.
Finally, setting up new factory requires vast areas of barren lands. On the contrary, my neighbour is lush with vegetation and is
used to grow various staple foods. Granting the permission to setup a new factory will entail hard working farmers to surrender
their lands to the company that too at subliminimal prices. This will affect their livelihood as well as the property that they
would like to handover to their next generation.
Thus, granting permission to setup a factory is bad idea because it pollutes water bodies and air, it will have poor working condition
and long working hours and last but not the least, it will require farmers to surrender vast areas of agricultural land to the company.