It is better to have lots of friends than it is to have just a few friends

Human beings are born to be social animals. Thus, friendship is an important part of our lives. Some people tend to have a lot of friends, while others prefer to only be close to a few people . Which way is more beneficial is always hotly debated in our society. In my opinion, I believe that having lots of friends is more helpful for people's lives. I will present my points in the following essay.

First and foremost, no one can deny that having a lot of friends will expand our horizons. A narrow circle of friends means less chance to encounter new things. My personal experience could be well used to attest this argument. When I was in high school, I barely had the chance to meet new friends. Most of my classmates were my former junior high school friends . We came from the same place and shared the same interests. After I entered university in a different city, I encountered new people from the whole country, which gave me great opportunities to learn about various cultures. It really expanded my horizons and deepened my understanding of the world. In contrast, imagine if you only have a few friends, your point of view will be restricted and affected by this small group.

Secondly, you will always have friends to play with if you need. One of the benefits of having a lot of friends is that you have more chances to hang out together. For some people who only have a few friends, they may constantly encounter situations where all their friends are very busy, based on their small number. However, if you have a lot of friends, whenever you want to hang out with your friends, you can just ask them and find someone who is currently free. Even if they are not available, they may refer you to their friends, and that will also be helpful to expand your friend circle.

Admittedly, there are some beneficial parts when you have only a few friends. Like you can have a closer relationship with all your friends. Unlike when you have a lot of friends, you probably don't have the time to build a deeper relationship with everyone.

In conclusion, based on what has been discussed above, I truly believe that having a lot of friends is more beneficial for people.