Old friends are an indispensable part of our lives; moreover, the life itself is quite an uninteresting thing without making new acquaintances and friends. However, personally, I am prone to believe that old friends are more important. I hold this opinion since they are the ones we can rely on; making new friends is not an easy thing to do; and we do not often have time for building new friendships.

To begin with, we can count on our old friends. They have proved to be loyal to us and, therefore, we refer to them any time we need their help, assistance or advice. For example, whenever I need to talk to someone and get advice, I prefer to do that with a person whom I know for a long time. This is explained by the fact that most of us are not prone to share our difficulties with people we do not know well and throughout long time. So, the longer we are friends with a person, the more we trust him.

Additionally, our new acquaintances should be tested properly, otherwise we will not be able to be sincere with each other and, therefore, become friends. In this regard, the problem is that not all our peers may become our friends since not all of them will satisfy our criteria for making friendship. For instance, when I was a student, I had a lot of classmates with whom I communicated very well. However, there was only one person with whom we became friends since we had similar interests and values. Thus, acquiring new friends is not a simple thing to do.

Finally, as we grow older we have less time for communicating with new people. Our life is hectic inasmuch as we have a lot of things to do both in our professional and private lives. And the older we become, the less attention we pay to making new friends. For instance, my grandfather has only three friends with whom he shares his thoughts, ideas and interests. Consequently, old friends are really valuable people for all of us.

To sum up briefly, it is impossible for a person to have a lot of friends due to the mentioned above subjective and objective factors which force us to appreciate our old friends most of all. They are trusted people who are nearby throughout all our lives.