It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

The statement states that, ideas and concepts are more important to understand for students than to learn facts. In the blank eye, it may seem that, facts are equally important as ideas and concepts. However, in deeper analysis, I find that statement perfect and that is why I support the claim to the fullest. Below I will discuss the reasons of my stance.

The required knowledge to survive in present complex world is increasing day by day and we have to process and go through a lot of information at a very short time. In the schools, a student have to read a lot of topics and that number of topics are increasing everyday as world is advancing rapidly in every moment. That is why, we need to learn a lot of information in a short time and many of the time it is impossible to learn all the aspects of a particular theory.

Ideas and concepts are important to learn the way people think and the way we can generate more compatible solutions to solve a problem. Facts are also important to know a particular situation, where the ideas or concepts can be applied or not, what are the implication and possibilities and difficulties associated with the theory. However, it is always not possible to learn all the facts as sometimes it is important to learn the theory only. For example, if a boy in class VII reads the periodic table, it is important for him to learn the basics of periodic table and some common element of the chart. But it is not feasible and at the same time not possible for him to know all the facts associated with the periodic table like the irregularities in the atomic mass or the irregularities of some element's position in the chart. Because, at that age, he needs to know some other important subjects and concepts like newton's law or the important concepts of sociology. Moreover, he can gain expertise later on the subject and learn more facts later in career when he needs them.

Lastly, facts are important to know a situational perfectly and to know the implications of a concept. On the other hand, as we live in a world of short period and we have to go a long way, it is not wise to spend a lot of time in a single topic, we need to know the other subjects. So, we should know the ideas and concepts and important facts initially and should try to know more ideas to make our cognitive abilities better to perceive a situation best way.