It’s the best way for teachers to help students become more interested in a subject by explaining how this subject can help students live better outside of the school.

With the development of technology, an increasing number of recreation facilities, like VR glasses and portable PlayStations, are created and they distract students’ attention on study. To encourage students to spare no effort in their studies, some people argue that explaining how this subject can help students live better outside of the school may be the best way to help students become more interested in a subject. In my view, I strongly advocate this point of view since, in this way, students are able to understand how to perform the abstract knowledge they learned in daily life.

First, as for math, it is the subject that confuses the majority. However, by connecting the knowledge we gain from math with reality, we may find it easier to learn. One of my personal experiences can be used as an example to illustrate that. In senior high, I found nothing but meaninglessness and uselessness when I was required to study geometry, which made me reluctant to take these courses. However, one day our teacher told us how geometry helped him to solve difficulties. He said that his knowledge of geometry helped him to turn something abstract into visible and realistic by separating them into small pieces, drawing them down and finding connections among them, which led him to have a better view of the whole situation. It did motivate me to pay more attention to the geometry since as time went by, I came to realize that as well.

Also, concerning history, many students find it hard to remember all those historical events, terms and names, which weakens their ambitions. Actually, even though we are now in a different civilization, you can always find something happened in the past that resembles the same case you come across today. A person who excels in history can learn a lot from precedents and thus avoid making the same mistakes. By knowing this, students can use things that happen nowadays to better recite those historical events and they will treat them as lively stories rather than boring course materials, which will surely motivate their eagerness to learn history.

In addition, biology is also a subject that needs such an explanation. The biology knowledge is widely used in daily life, but that does not mean everyone performs it in a right way, considerable people would have avoided some injuries or problems if they had the basic biology knowledge, which can be substantiated by the fact that many residents near the forest accidentally eat toxic mushrooms now and then. If they are taught that mushrooms with colorful dots are possibly inedible and boil mushrooms thoroughly can break down the poison, they will not pick these mushrooms or get sick next time they see or eat them. It can be applied to many other situations. Once students know that the information they receive from biology classes can sometimes save their lives or help them lead a more healthy life, they will likely do better in biology.

In sum, I do believe that let students know the benefits that subjects will bring to them in advance can no doubt help them be more interested in school curricula.