Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

Usually, in all schools, teachers provide different tasks where students have to work as a team. Later on, all students are graded for their performance on their project work. In this regard, some people think that receiving an equivalent score is the best approach in group projects, while others hold a different opinion that students must need to get their score separately for their projects. From my perspective, the latter view carries more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

The first reason that makes me hold the belief that considering one grade for all students undermine their educational ability, and students might have to pay a huge cost due to this method. Needless to say, working with the same level students would help to maintain a stimulating environment among all. To elaborate this more, if the grades are given equivalently to all students, then the one who has no incentive to work on a project might get a higher grade since having a high achiever as a teammate. Accordingly, the students who work really hard for a project might get discouraged as they will not be rewarded separately for their achievements and hard work. Consequently, the high achiever may not put in an effort due to having a fear of not getting appreciation from their teachers. Hence, gradually and slowly, it could badly affect their academic performance level.

Another equally noteworthy reason to bear in mind is that looking at this scenario from another side when students are graded individually on performing for a group task, it is more likely that they would start participating more enthusiastically and efficiently. Additionally, they will try to put propose their ideas and opinions, whereby the outcome of the whole project would be great, and on top of that, it gives an opportunity to other students to grasp a wide horizon of knowledge from them. On the contrary, the students who are not graded separately may feel lazy, and not motivated enough to perform a task. Take my own personal experience as an example of this. When I was a sophomore at university, we supposed to construct a model of human anatomy in biology class. Students were divided into small groups. It is a fact that every student devoted a lot of their time behind this task in order to make it remarkable from others, from which, students can gain extra credits. I personally would have learned many theoretical strategies and real practical experience after participating in that group project.

All in all, contemplating all remarks, I strongly believe that students need to be graded separately in order to enhance their educational performance. This is because it helps them to maintain their enthusiasm and motivation.