People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

A glance at people attitude toward career brings to light a question that has provoked a discussion several times, that is, whether people work because of money or other factors influence their decision. More than five decades ago, people continued their family vocations because they had learnt a lot of information and skill about it. There was not any other opportunity for them to choose their careers. In contrast, modern people in this century face with a lot of career’s options and the money is not a big factor to work. Definitely, we cannot ignore the effect of money but satisfaction and intrinsic sociality of human kinds are two other reasons.

The foremost reason why people work lies in the fact that they want to be part a group and society. This need is met when they work in a friendly environment and participate in activities which make them closer. If a person cannot find a good job, he is more prone to mental diseases such as anxiety and depression. A recent study at Harvard University shows that employees who earn decent salaries but suffers from frantic boss have depression in higher rate than people who get lower salaries with kind manager. This study also states that it is more possible that people abandon their jobs when their work environment is dictatorial even if income is high. Thus, social aspect of work is a determinant factor.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that each person has different talent and skill and enjoy to spend time on it. For example, physicians earn the highest salaries in USA but it is not interesting for a lot of people to see blood and fracture every day. The only reason that make a person to enter medical school and tolerate night shifts and sleeplessness is love to this career. As a student in business school I believe it is really hard to devote all of your weekends to work on courses’ assignments and understand the concept of each lecture while not confuse them. But I really enjoy to get out of my comfort zone and struggle with new mathematics questions. I feel more usefulness this way even without an excellent salary.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I believe that people need to be satisfied internally and be useful for society. In addition, an amiable work environment makes life happier and better.