Reading books is important for children to gain knowledge about the world However some parents force their children to read non fiction books as they believe fiction is not good for children Do you agree or disagree Use specific reasons and examples to su

Non fiction books portray truth ,facts and knowledge which are important for real life whereas fiction books have some sorts of unrealistic view which may create an imaginary life dream among children. Whatever a child is learning about a real world or an imaginary world, he or she should not be forced to read any specific types of book. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that parents should force their children to read non-fiction believing that fiction is not good for the following three reasons.

Firstly, Forcing should not be an option for any book reading. For example, one of my friends was very good at drawing and always loved art . His parents have forced him to read fiction and nonfiction books, which was not his cup of tea. Eventually, he turned off his drawing and also gave up reading books in his later life. Forcing someone to do something is never appreciated because if someone does not get any interest, he will not practice it latter and will never get the actual benefit from that. Whatever the types of books children want to read, parents should let them read. Thus they will be accustomed to a reading habit which will help him to read other types of books in future.

Secondly, fiction books increase our depth of thinking and expand the dimensions for reading habit. For example, I read a science fiction book in my childhood related to a team who are working in space with aliens from other planets. This book has given me the opportunity to think largely about the outside world or planet and made me enthusiastic about astronomy and planet science. Thus I have grown an interest in this topic and read more books which were not only limited to fictions rather theory and science behind these. An interest in something can help a child to think bigger and eventually make him more eager to learn the non fictions about the topic. Therefore, they should not be forced by thinking that fiction is not good enough.

Lastly, nonfiction books often portrays- some truths or facts which are not suitable for children. For example, I was reading a literature when I was child which was full of sexual abuse. As a child, I found the book very much appropriate for me and it made a bad impact on myself. Therefore, the contents of nonfiction books might not be appropriate for a child and they may have a negative effect which will eventually ruin his career and future path.