The rules that the whole societies today expect to young people to follow and obey are too strict.

When it comes to various rules that young people have to follow, some people claim that those rules are too stringent , therefore stifling individuality . But others argue that rules are vital for the youngsters, and I am one of them.

In the family, young people must follow some rules made by parents. For example, many children are required to go back home immediately after school. Despite the strictness of the rule, it is not unnecessary considering the fact that children may encounter various unexpected dangers wandering in the street. Besides, I heard some of my friend complain that their parents ask them to save money. This complaint is even more unreasonable because all too often young people are impulsive buyers and family rules about saving money cannot be ignored . Family rules do not end up here. Probably some of us are asked to respect the old and cherish the young. This rule is also of vital importance for a harmonious family.

Schools and companies are also places where rules are miscellaneous . Take my school rules as an example. The first rule, and probably the most controversial rule, is that students must wear school uniforms. Some students hate this rule, for they believe the rule stifles their individuality. Nevertheless, there are good reasons for the rule: students in our school coming from different family backgrounds, which means we have students who are well-off and students who have to rely on school loans to finish schooling. Under this circumstance, it is not unreasonable that students are forced to wear school uniform. The abolition of the rule will lead to comparison among students, which may cause declining test scores and degradation of morality .

Last but not least, there are laws that young people have to obey for the sake of their well-being . Laws about legal drinking age are advantageous to young adults’ physical health. It is a common knowledge that drinking at an early age is detrimental: it may cause mental incapacity and excessive reliance on alcohol. Worse, some crimes are triggered by drinking excessively, for drunken people always lack rational thinking and are easily irritated.

From the above discussion I firmly believe that rules, no matter in family, schools or society, are necessary and should be obeyed by young people. Only rule-abiding citizens are capable of living a secure and prosperous life.