Should a city try to preserve its old historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

This topic is about whether to preserve old buildings or destroy them in cities. There has been an argument over the issue, but I would prefer to preserve them for future generations. I have two significant reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, old historic buildings reflect the city's history. Preserving them directly leads to preserving the history. In my city, for example, a historic building made of bricks stands in the middle of the downtown. This facility was firstly built as a bank, which was later renovated as a hotel. Buildings built of bricks are not common in my neighborhood, and it has been regarded as a precious remains that reflects the process of the country's modernization. Every time we pass by it, we think back to the time when people strived to modernize the nation. Therefore, it is important to conserve historic buildings in cities.

Another reason is that we can benefit from historic buildings. Old buildings are not just old, but are accompanied with a decent history. They might be useful for the city's tourism. They might also be renovated with modernized interior equipments, adding a new taste to the building. Personally, I live in a countryside and my neighboring house looked miserable with nobody to live in for years. Few years ago, however, the municipal officers in charge came and renovated it as a polished restaurant. It became a new attraction of the precinct, intriguing an increasing number of people to come.

Some people might argue against the idea of preserving old buildings. They might counter that building new buildings can create job opportunities, galvanizing the city on the whole. However, I doubt this notion because preserving old buildings also requires human resources from various aspects. Just as repairing an old painted work requires a highly-skilled techniques, so does repairing an old building.

For those reasons, I support the idea that old historic buildings should be preserved. Destroying them is easy, but no buildings that arise after them would be an alternative to them, hence they should be preserved.