Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones cell phones with Internet access while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch Which point of view do you think is better and why

Change is inevitable. As generations passed, technology has developed. The way of living has completely been altered. In the current world that we live in, modern technology is a major part of most people’s lives. I disagree that parents should forbid their children from owning smartphones. I will express why that is my opinion in the following essay.

Parents may feel that they should restrict their children from owning smartphones because in their time, smartphones were not necessary. However, times have changed. The vast majority of the population have access to the internet conveniently through their phones. Not owning one in this generation would hinder you from an abundance of things. The child may feel like they are missing out or have difficulty keeping in touch with people. One of my personal experiences with this was when my phone was taken away from me a few years ago. My father felt that a smartphone really was not requisite in my life. During that period, I could not connect with my friends or make plans to meet up, which does not seem like a huge deal, but as a youngster, it was a big part of my life. Socializing was made harder cause I was not aware of the current news that my peers were chattering about. At this day and age, a child without a smartphone might feel like an outcast surrounded by people with a smartphone.

There is no right way of being raised. A childhood without a smartphone may seem like the ideal way because it is the norm just because that is how it has been till now. But, things evolve. Growing up with a smartphone is not wrong, it is just different from how things have been in the past. Parents should not compare their childhood to their child’s as they are living in a completely different time. Currently, smartphones are being used for numerous things, such as a map to give you directions, to listen to music, to take pictures, to connect to people from all over the world. A life without a smartphone is attainable but not practical contemporarily because everybody else around you has access to the internet at the tip of their fingers.

Instead of restricting smartphones, I believe it would be far better for parents to teach their children self-control. Self-control is an important ability a person could use long-term throughout their life. A child should know his/her limitations. Their life should not revolve around their phone. Owning a smartphone could possibly be one of the ways a child learns self-control. I personally have learned to use my phone less. It was my own realization. Self-control happens through an individual’s own willingness. If my parents forcibly took my smartphone away, I would not have learned self-control, instead, I would have sought to have my smartphone more.

In conclusion, I believe that smartphones should not be viewed as a negative tool to grow up with. Times have changed, and contemporary, it would be more practical to own a smartphone. Smartphones can also be a way for a child to learn self-control.