Telephone has greater effect on people’s lives than television has

To be honest, telephone should be regarded as one of the greatest innovation in the 20th century. Thanks to it, people in far distance are able to get in touch more easily. What’s more, it brings out a brand new style of selling, cold call. In my opinion, effects of telephone outweigh those of television. My arguments for this point are listed as follows.

First of all, telephones bring people in far distance close. Even one is in the north hemisphere while the other in the south is fully capable to get in touch as soon as possible. Thus, it really makes a change to people’s lives. As you see, people in past have no telephone. When they have something urgent to inform the other, they have to ride horse, a common transportation which usually cost them a month to get destination. As you can imagine, when they got there, it was too late. Thus, in the age without telephone, the rate of information dissemination was so slow that much urgent business had been screwed up. Besides, without telephone, it’s hard for children living far away from home to communicate with their families. Therefore, people at that time often lived together. To some extent, the advent of television makes a change to the structure of the society.

Secondly, telephones make cold calling possible. Cold calling refers to a way of selling products. Salesmen today no longer provide door to door service. To save time and energy, they are more willing to make phone calls to their potential customers. When it comes to the effect of cold calling, there is no denying the fact that it is perfect. According to the survey, nearly one third of the order today comes from the cold calling. As a result, cold calling becomes one of the smartest means of marketing. From this perspective, not only does telephone change people’s lives but also consumption pattern.

In addition, sometimes telephones may sever as the last straw that save people’s lives. How many times have we heard that the old lady lost balance and fell to the ground? How many times have we heard that fashion lady grappled with the robber? How many times have we heard that the boat upset and spilled the boys into the water? Those are phenomena that we could see everywhere but few of bystanders are willing or capable to save them. Thus, taking step to save ourselves seems to be a must. Telephones then play a critical part. When such misfortune happened to us, the first thing to do is calming down and then phone 911 or other reliable person for help. Thanks to the lightning speed of telephones, most of people who turn to telephone when they are in danger could get the rescue without delay. Therefore, regard the means of rescue, telephones seems much more important than any other media nowadays.

To draw a conclusion, taking communication, means of selling and self-rescue into consideration, telephone undoubtedly has much more effect on people’s lives than television has.