TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is indisputable that the old friends have a great significant pivotal role in their friend’s life not only in helping each other in getting information but also help them to acquire valuable life lessons. The issue whether friends should keep old friends or not aroused much controversy between people with different age, and different perspectives. Some contend think that they should replace old friends by new friends to acquire more valuable experiences. In my opinion, however, I agree that they should keep the old friends since old friends are in same age, and have the same interests, and they are more influential than the new friends.

To begin with, the old friends are at the same age, having the same interest, having a lot in common. They spend most of the time together even after they return home, Calling each other, or hanging out at the park together; they are taking in many subjects such as schools subjects, their daily life, their interest, and their hobbies. As the consequence, they usually imitate each other unconsciously, As the result, it develops a strength relationship can not be broken forever, They can enjoy together all time, and have fun while the new friends, they do not know each other, might have not the same interests, thus they can not get along well. For instance, my little brother and his friend are friends from a long time, both interested in soccer games and they spent almost of their spare time talking about the soccer games worldwide and great football player. My brother’s friend is a good soccer player and my brother tends to imitate his behavior, enjoy all the time together, and encourage each other to go forward.

In addition to same interests between the old friends, an everlasting friend may have greater influence in the long run than new friends. Some of our friends at school may become friends forever. This kind of friends will influence us even when we graduate. However, new friends, on the contrary seldom become everlasting during our lives since they know each other from short periods of time. Therefore, they will not have great influence in the long run as old friends do. Everlasting students understand each other more since they have a lot in common. Friendship is considered as motivation tools between each other to foster each other to get success within a short time. For example, I had a friend from primary schools, he is one of my best friends, he is so smart, helping me a lot whenever I need, and he used to encourage me to work hard in my work to get a high promotion. There is proverb saying” Friendship, like phosphorus, shines brightest when all around is dark” reflecting us that the old friends have a great impact on the students’ life.

As all things considered, while the new friends play an important role in our life such as exchange new ideas, and life lessons. When it comes to the influence of the old friends are far outweigh than the new friends’ influence due to they are at the same ages, having the same hobbies, and the t everlasting friends can encourage each other to go forward.