TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the development of technology yields people a life more convenient, turning many things that seem impossible in the past become realities. Nevertheless, there are still many disputable concerns whether technologies bring to human beings, especially children, bad effects. Most specifically, some parents are worried that technology is the key factors that deteriorate their children’s creativity. As far as I’m concerned, I totally disagree with this statement for the following reasons.

First of all, technology is the tool of which children can take advantage to create new things. Children are always curious about everything around them, so when they come across high technique stuff, they are obsessed with its mysterious function and eager to know how it works. For example, Bill Gates had a chance to approach computer when he was young. He was attracted by the original computer and he did everything to discover its secrets. Definitely, the computers are the tools that help him fulfill his obstacle accomplishments in the software industry. There is no doubt in my mind that these advanced stuffs will pave a path for many great inventions.

Second, technology helps widen children’s knowledge. In the past, children were able to learn things from one perspective. Today, with the spread of internet, children can get more information from their friends in different countries. Therefore, they can have many options and solve the problems in different ways. Knowledge is the base of creation. This diverse knowledge will inspire children and encourage them to invent new things. When you surf the internet about a specific subject, it usually discussed by many authors, so you will be able to collect more information which increases your depth level of understanding, and widens your imagination that leads you to become more creative.

Finally, getting acquainted with the latest technology makes children has the interest in science subjects in school. Every high technology has root in basic science. If children are curious about these things, they will have more motivation in their study. After graduation, when some children can master a certain field, they can extend it to invent a new product to meet human being’s demands. For example, my nephew is interested in modern toys related to space technology such as airplanes, rockets, and satellites. I think the toys can inspire my nephew to pursue universal science in future college or at least teach him about this nature.

As all things considered, technology has made children more creative than they were in the past because it widens their knowledge, providing more information to create new things and nourish their enthusiasm in studying. They are fundamental tools as well as internal inspiration that help children fulfill their dreams