TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every one has their own preferred way in raising their children, and all of them have their own strength and weaknesses. I strongly believe that playing computer games is a waste of time and children should not be allowed to play. Someone can consciously weigh the pros and cons. The reasons will be explored in the following essay.

To begin with, computer games decrease the ability of the child to focus on their studies. Some kids are even obsessed with those games. When spending so much quality time playing, there would be less hours to study and do their homework. Also, school grading gets harmed vigorously, and kid's future can be ruined at sensitive ages. If a child have salient exams and he lost the time he has for studying in gaming, then a dramatically low score is the expected result. Focusing on the game will overlap the attention on books and the student becomes lost in an enormous ocean of material that is needed to be covered in order to climb the stairs of success.

Furthermore, computer games lead the child to lose his thinking ability and creativity, which are the most essential in developing a child's brain. When a kid only thinks of the rules and regulations of his favorite computer game, he stops reasoning what is really basic in his path. A child who play games over and over again, becomes extremely robotic in his acts and behavior. Also, obsession with characters in his games is so dangerous that it might make him lose his identity and cut down his personality development. I believe that this is a very devastating effect.

From another perspective, Children playing computer games are more prone to obesity and health issues. A child who spends too many hours sitting in front of a wide bright screen would definitely mess with his vision and eye cornea. Some kids may also be obligated to wear a thick eyeglasses to fix what the computer resulted in. The harmful ultrawaves sent from the screen can also affect the brain and the nervous system. Studies are now showing that the percentage of children who spent more than three hours focusing on a computer screen are more possible to have autism Vs those who are not allowed by their parents to game.

As a conclusion, computer gaming is very dangerous to children in all the aspects of his life. Parents should be extremely careful with what they expose their children to, since this affects a whole generation.