TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everything in life is temporary such as customs, traditions, situations etc but the only thing that is permanent is change. However, is it true to say that the importance of the extended family has decreased now as compared to the past or is it stills the same? Well, many people have diverse view point on this issue; some think that it is still popular and essential as there are many families who still like to live together as a joint family. On the other hand, my opinion is not alike due to the following reasons and justifications.

First, today people want to have their own personal space. Although, initially it might sound a bit offending but it is true, in today’s modern world most of the people including women in it prefer to have a place where they can live their own life in their own way. On the contrary, in extended family it is not possible as there are a lot of restrictions by the elders of the family which is a major issue that restrains the young generation to want to live in such an environment for example my sister lives in a separate house with her husband. Though, her in laws stay in same city but as she wants liberty to live in her own way, she does not prefer to stay with them in the same house. When I observe such behavior, I feel that the culture of extended family has faded enormously.

Second, there are more conflicts in extended family because of the generation gap. As we all know that due to the advent of new technologies, people now have different life style from the elder people who did not have such life style and gadgets. There is a huge gap between the ideology of two different generations and this difference often leads to frequent fights and conflicts. I can say this strongly as I have seen it in my own house. My fifteen year old son likes to party late night and get up late in the morning. Also, he is addicted to junk food and I like to eat healthy home cooked food and due to these small issues we often have a argument that gets heat up at some occasions as well. This made me realize that after few years even my son will not prefer to live with me.

To recapitulate, I would like to say that though there are enormous benefits of an extended family like one will never feel lonely and depressed as there will always be some or the other member of the family to talk to. In addition, children get more love and care in joint family and so they do not get spoiled easily but due to the above mentioned causes its popularity is reducing day by day.