TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

When it comes to children, most of the parents would want to give anything they have to their children. One of the things that parents would give to their own children is money, specially if these parents are wealthy. It is essential to support our children financially but at the same time some parents think that they have to be cautious with giving money to their children as this might affect them negatively on the long run. This issue arouse controversy between different parents depending on their own financial status and their point of view in raising their children. I agree that in order to become financially responsible adults, children need to learn to manage their own money at young age, for the following concerns.

First of all, It will make them aware of the money value. If the children keep spending their parents money without a limit, they might not be able to set a limit for themselves when they grow up. A common example is credit cards, a lot of children specially teenagers open their own credit cards and keep buying stuff and spending money with no limit which they can not pay back and if their parents did not pay it, they will go in debt. That is why parents should set a limit of spending money for their children at young age, this way they learn how to be responsible in the future and how to stay with in the limit that they can pay off.

In addition, I think parents should teach their children about saving. If they learn how to save from a small amount of money which they get from their parents, on the long run they will know how to save on a bigger scale. When they become responsible adults they will be able to save for their house, for emergencies or for their vacation which is more useful than spending all the money on resturants and buying unnecessary stuff.

Finally, Another thing that can help a child to become a financially responsible adult is working at high school or college age as long as it will not affect his studying life. Working for a day or two a week help them to understand how their parents bring the money and how hard it is, this way they will appreciate the money and be careful about spending it.

Also it will be encouraging for them to be successful in college and be good at their prefered subject in order to get a better job.

In conclusion, Supporting children is financially is one of the most important duties for the parents, But i still agree that giving them much money without a limit will not help them to become responsible adults.