TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone is seeking for success in his life. When it comes to the ways to get success, there are two ways, one of them is trying new things and taking risks, and the other is doing what you already now, which based on “The knowledge from books is basis on which the other knowledge rests” for this reasons people don’t like to try new things and think that the knowledge they already know is enough to get success in their life. The issue whether trying new things and taking risks is better than doing what we already know or not arouses much controversy among people from different ages, and different perspectives. Some contend think that people should do what they already know to avoid mistakes and get their success within a short period of time. However, in my opinion, I completely agree that they should take risks and try new things to learn a lot of experiences and skills in their lives and learning new things help them to be active.

To begin with, trying new things help them to learn lot of new experiences and skills in their life. Learning from experience makes us acquire a lot of valuable life lessons in our lives such as how to be self- confident, and responsible, even if books can benefit us in similar ways by giving us a lot of information and theoretical skills. However, not all of that we have to learn. There are so many times we fail to do something due to the absence of authentic knowledge, which can be gained from our practical experiences. Trying new things helps us to learn more and more even if we make mistakes, making mistakes helps us to understand what we do not know, and helps us to improve. Each experience has a lot of pros and cones; therefore we have to try new things even we do not like it, each new experience helps us to become mature. It reminds me with the most German Philosopher Wolf Gang Goethe’s saying that “ to make all wise truly thoughts ours, we have to think them thousands of to time until they take firm root in our personal experience” reflecting us that the importance of trying new practical experience.

In addition, learning new experience and skills, it helps people more active and energetic. Making the people what they know does not need any effort, the are long used to do it every day, which leads them to feel boring and not interesting in what they do, while the people who try new things, they try to do their best to get success, they think in depth, searching everywhere to gain knowledge about this new thing that helps them to be more all rounded. The knowledge which gets by a lot of efforts you can not forget forever. Being energetic and active is to learn something new, a good strategy that they can apply in their routine life which helps them to change their lifestyle. For example, I remember when I moved to united state back in 2006, I had opportunity to work as pharmacist technician, I already a pharmacist in my country, I had basic foundation about this fields, but it was new experience for me to compound medication, while I compound any medication, sometimes I faced a lot of issues, but by thinking, a lot of efforts such as reading lot of research about this topic, A good way helps me to improve and being active not stick when I face a new issue. There is proverb saying that success is only achieved by those who do not know that failure is inevitable, that reflecting us that we have to put the experience a stepping stone to our success.

As all things considered, while some people think that doing what you already know is conducive ways to success within a short period of time. I think that the advantages of trying new experiences are far outweighed than those who are doing the same things you already know it due to learning valuable life lessons and being active in our lives. Additionally, Due to fierce competition people have to try new things to be well informed.