TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When asked about the approaches to life, many people have the idea that change and new experiences bring us a meaningful life. However, others take the view that staying the same and not changing the usual habits is the better way of the life. In fact, both approaches have its advantages and disadvantages which are listed as follows.

To begin with, some people believe change and new experiences provide us a meaningful life because when we adapt to the change and new environments, we must face the difficulties and try our best to overcome them. This process not only builds our personality but also gives us an exciting and meaningful life. What’s more the change around us improves our spirit of adaptation and an independence. They benefit us in competing for survival in the society. Let us suppose we always stay the same and do not change the environment. Then if someday we have to step into another environment, how can we adapt to it?

Secondly, trying new things led to success. Let’s take Albert Einstein as the first example. As we all know, he invented the theory of Quantum Mechanics, which is so different from what we have already known in physics. This theory led to his personal success in the field of theoretical physics. However, almost all of us ignore the fact that he also did really well in traditional physics. He made his discovery based on his research on traditional physics. A more recent example is Steve Jobs, who is the chief executive officer of Apple. We usually oversee his achievement in the innovative Apple system and applications. In fact, without deep knowledge of basic computer system or electronic devices, he cannot put his innovation into use. Actually, successful people do take risks after they have done what they have known for sure.

On the other hand, people who hold an opposite view consider that sticking to the usual habits is the better way of life. They point out that the longer you keep the same habits, the more adaptive you are and you may live comfortably. They point out that usual changes make you acquaint with nothing, and then it is impossible for you to have a happy life. In order to see this point clearly, they give us a good example: If you change your environment every month, you have to always change your habits and customs. Then how can you live happily?

As far as I am concerned, the advantages of change carry more weight than those of staying the same because I need to improve my adaptation which is the Only way that I can survive in the society. Also, taking risks led to success which needs in our life.