TPO-26 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific r

Recently, general awareness about whether children should choose jobs similar their parents has aroused heated arguments. Nevertheless, people have different opinions. Since the process of exploring one's interest and determining their future career is a long adventure and also very risky, some parents believe it is better for their child to have the same job as their's since they can support each other and get less stress in choosing their job. However, in my point of view, I disagree with the statement because children may have different interests from their parents. Also, children may find it annoying to have same jobs with their parents as they get compared.

To begin with, even between parents and children, their specific interests and talents may vary. Therefore, insisting their child to have the same job as their parents without enough consideration may restrict children's potential. As a result, children may have confusion and uncertain about their future career. Also, the discord can create conflict between parents and children. For example, I had a friend whose parent's were both famous football superstars. Both of his parent's wanted him to be a professional football player, however he was more interested in baseball and discovered he had talent for it. Unfortunately, his parents insisted him to play in a high school football team even was bad at it. As a result, he still finds difficulties in planning for his future career, and complains about his parent's pressure. Furthermore, he might have to face financial problems in the future as he find it hard to search for a job. Therefore, children instead of following their parent's career, have to actively search their field of interest and explore many possibilities. There are many resources more reliable than parent's opinion out there, so children should discreetly find their profession. Having the same job as parents without much pondering may lead to terrible results to both parents and children.

In addition, children feel uncomfortable to have same jobs with their parents as they are constantly compared with their parent's skills and achievements. If they are inexperienced and unskilled, they will get depressed and regret about their choice. As an example, my friend's family own's bakery renowned for it's delicious and crispy pastry. Their parent's retired from their job and turned the business over to their daughter who learned bakery in France. However, her baking skills were still immature in comparison with their parent's. She constantly received complaints from the customers that the quality of the pastry has fallen. As a result, she was deeply depressed and even considered quitting the job many times. Furthermore, her parent's started to grumble about her baking skills. Finally, she sold the business and quarreled with her parent's over the matter. As you can see, children having the same job with their parents have to endure the criticism from comparison. Therefore, children following the same career with their parents isn't a very wise choice.

In conclusion, it is not beneficial for parents to insist their children to have the same job as theirs as children may have different field of interest with their parents and also may get stressed from being compared with their parents. Children utilizing resources, have to have time considering about their future rather than thoughtlessly determining their career.