TPO 50 Independent Writing Task all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

A glance at people's attitude towards history brings light to a question that has been asked several times: whether every university student need to learn history. Although some argue that it is waste of the effort, if your field is not related to history, I firmly believe that it is beneficial for all the university students to add history to their knowledge. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will develop ideas to support my stance.

First of all, learning history is essential to understand the current society you live in. After a student graduated, it is unavoidable to interact with different social groups and cultures. Even at the workplace to develop better relationships among friends, your senior officers, and junior staff, understanding of culture is critical. Learning history is the best way to get to know about cultures and customs of the people around you. For instance, in my office we celebrate historically important events of Christians, Hindus, Muslims and Buddhists. In these occasions we get an opportunity strengthen relationship among each other. These sessions improves team working skills and transform the office environment to a more friendly place.

Secondly, history can teach important lessons to every student, irrespective of the field they are specializing. History contains information on past human civilizations. This includes mathematics, science, engineering, literature, language, art, music, and what not. Learning history of your subject , its' evolution, and past giants of the field can aid you to get better understanding of the subject, while enhancing your fondness. Taking my personal experience as a compelling example, at the university Calculus period was my time to sleep. However, one day at the history class ,I got the chance to learn about European mathematics history and Isaac Newton. This sparkle my interest towards the Calculus subject and I realized why Newton develop this special tool and its empirical aspects. Still, to the date Calculus is my favorite subject.

Yet, some people state that students who follow courses like computer science will not benefit from learning history and it can be additional burden to them. However, with the development of technology we see that history related realms has evolved greatly and we see some areas where we have extensive use of computer technology. Computer Engineers working in these areas need to have better knowledge in history to complete their task properly. Similarly, history is the hub of all the fields, every one needs to know about history to open more opportunities in your career.

In the light of the reasons mentioned, I strongly believe that it is advantageous to all the university students to learn about the history. This knowledge will help you to efficiently interact with the society and it will open doors for a successful future.