TPO- 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, governmental decisions are regarded as crucial factors contributing to the various aspects of people's lives. One of the heated debates in this realm is associated with the areas that the government should spend its money. Many people adhere to the view that the budget should be spent on art, while others believe it will be more influential if it is spent on sports. Ego, when it comes to my stance, by weighing up the pros and cons, I firmly hold that investing in sports is a more beneficial choice. In what follows, I will cogently pinpoint my most conspicuous reasons to justify my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that supporting athletics would encourage people in exercising and improves public health. The proliferation of investments in the sports industry made people step into the path of being professional players. Although some of them will not achieve this goal, the roots of practicing and exercising will be prominent in society. My own experience is a compelling example of this. About ten years ago, a fashion in my country was started to attract young and talented children for the academics of our local football clubs. As a result, scores of students, including my friends and me, started practicing football to become a famous athlete in the future. We did not accomplish to be professionals; however, we already play football every weekend together, and this habit helped us to stay fit.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that it can turn sports into a thriving industry and attract investors from all over the world to our country. Watching sports has been one of the major entertainments of people for decades. Consequently, it has absorbed the attention of giant companies to spend their dollars voraciously in this industry. Take the premier league of England as an example. We can see the clash of the different incorporations overtaking the sponsorships of the great teams. Also, the national television benefits from selling the rights of broadcasting exhibitions to other countries. Thus, it helps a lot in the development of the country.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that investing in athletics is more beneficial than spending the budget on arts. This is because it increases the healthy behaviors among society, and draws the attention of investors to the country.