TPO 66: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

Nowadays, the crucial importance of learning professions is explicit to everyone. Now, it is a big deal to decide if we should look for catching several skills or, we ought to set our minds just on a specific job to succeed. I am of the conviction that it is much better to consider only one major and try to develop it. I feel this way due to a couple of reasons that I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, focusing on one skill can help a person to become professional in that subject since s\he can put all his or her efforts and attention on it, and besides spend more time developing it. I should admit that my opinion is influenced by my personal experience. My sister chooses her major when she was a teen and she kept studying and researching on it during her years of study in university, hence, now she is an elite person in her major that sees a good deal of opportunity in front of her to choose the place that she wants to work because every company is looking for a skilled person. So, I think working to improve one skill helped her to become a top person in her field of study.

Moreover, stay determined on one main skill can prevent confusion. Because there is no need to look around and get lost in different subjects and shuffle between them. For instance, in my first two years of study, I tried to learn a variety of programming skills. Then it caused loads of tensions for me because I was so confused that what I am going to do? Which one I like most or in what field I should work, or even which one is more beneficial for me, and all these thoughts were bothering me until my advisor in university suggest me that I had better choose one of them and continue my efforts in that field. So I decided for the rest of my study, I should only focus on one programming language.

To sum up, in my opinion, staying focused and devote all your time and energy just to one particular skill is more efficient and makes people more successful. It is because it supports the process of becoming professional and skillful and prevents confusion.