In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today Do you agree or disagree

In the last few decades, as time has passed, the overall economic growth of people has raised the standard of living. Nowadays, comparatively more people are investing money in automobiles compared to the past years. In this regard, some people contend that usage of cars will be growing in upcoming years. On the other hand, there are some people who think that people will put control over buying new cars. Certainly, from my vantage point, the former view contains more weight. For the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most conspicuous reasons and examples justifying my stance.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the developing world is rapidly urbanizing, which means that people are migrating to urban places. Accordingly, more people will need to drive cars in order to reach their workplaces that usually are located far from urban areas. In the past, people used to live in villages and engaged in agricultural activities. Drawing from my friend, Simon’s example sheds light on what has been elaborated above. His grandparents worked as a farmer in the village area and thereby, they did not require to drive every day. On the contrary, Simon moved to the city area last year as he got a job in a private firm which was thirty kilometers away from his home. As a result of that, Simon has to drive a car from his home to his workplace. In fact, most of his co-workers do the same. Thus, I can see no future where people will stop using cars.

Another noteworthy point is that no one can deny the fact that the advancement of technology and science has drastically affected the automobile sector. To be more precise, every few years manufactured companies come up with the new lucrative features of cars in order to attract more buyers. Unfortunately, people blindly invest their money to buy a new version of a car in return to get advanced facilities regardless of their real need for automobiles. To give a more vivid picture, research conducted at the University of California on buyers who bought cars in the last decade and result was shocking because a graph was constantly rising in ten years. Hence, it is reasonable to say if people did not stop buying cars in the past, they would definitely not stop doing that in the next twenty years.

Lastly, incomes are rising all over the world, which means that automobiles will be affordable for even more people in the future. Previously, owning a car was a privilege enjoyed only by a restricted wealthy community. Now, however, consumers in developing countries like India and China purchase millions of cars every day due to the fact that people are earning a good salary package nowadays. For example, my younger brother does not have a car currently which enforces him to go to the workplace by carpooling with a neighbor. Nevertheless, he dreams of having his own car in the future. While it might help him to save a lot of money by continuing carpooling or utilizing local bus transportation services, he views car ownership as a symbol of affluence. Therefore, it is merely to say that there are many people like him who feel the same way as he feels and would not stop buying cars in the upcoming years.

All in all, by contemplating all remarks, I strongly feel that in the future there will be more vehicles on the road. This is because people who live in modern areas are required to travel far for work purposes, and growing economical conditions around the world will provoke people to buy more automobiles in the near days.