In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

Recently, the significance of a cashless society has sparked a public controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question “is cardless society beneficial or not?”. While there are several drawbacks to using more credit cards, I believe that the benefits of electronic banking are of paramount importance to society.

Many commentators are of the view that there are disadvantages to the cashless economy. From their point of view, non-cash payment options are strongly related to unsecured credit, which means it might lead to both exposing the cyber fraud and losing hard-earned money to online scam and hacking of bank accounts. For example, a group of reputable scientists, working at a highly prestigious university, conducted a qualitative study to understand the relationship between digital crimes and the loss of privacy between participants of transactions as well as the lack of proper infrastructure and education among citizens. Their academic criticism was impressive. Therefore, this evidence presented thus far support the contention that financial transaction is correlated positively with not only the economic organization but also a method of payment.

However, I believe that card-less society has several advantages. For one thing, a healthy bank balance is attributable to tracking the black money and illegal transactions, in that it would lead to reducing the chances of theft from the wallet, reducing inconvenience due to carrying cash, and no risk of receiving counterfeit currency. A well-known example of such attributions is online shopping, which is cause for concern since it was mistaken in taking monetary policy for granted. Thus, tracking all transactions and levying the tax on them could play a significant role in the betterment of economy of the country, cash ratio, and money market.

In conclusion, cashless communities can be mutually beneficial under different circumstances. However, I firmly believe that online transfers not only will prove to be worthwhile but also crucial to society.