In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

In the tech-savvy era, a cashless society is becoming a reality in most of the countries and the popularity of the credit and debit cards has increased tremendously. However, some people argue that paper money and metal coins have long been used as a medium of exchange and a standard of value in almost all societies. In my opinion, this can be a two-edged sword. I will discuss my viewpoints in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, there are myriad advantages of credit cards. Firstly, it is now increasingly common for the people to shop online where they cannot use paper money and coins to pay. Secondly, credit cards have small in size so instead to carry huge amount we can pay bills simply by swiping the card. The chief benefits is that we can overdraft in advance when our cash is less. Moreover, some banks provide the money back facility for juveniles in the supermarket by using a certain credit card.

On the flip sides, internet banking is not always fully secured. There is ample evidence of computer viruses, hackers and crimes. Hecker's are after your credit card details and security branches can wipe the entire amount of your bank accounts. Probing further, many small businesses do not have the technology required to accept cash payments. Furthermore, the rate of personal bankruptcy will be on the rise. Hence, it would impact on social problems. Thus, a cashless society may not equal to a well-protected or more suitable world for everyone.

To conclude, it can be said that popularity of the credit card is indeed a positive development if and only if the precautions are taken at every step.