In developing countries, tourism has disadvantages or advantages?

Of late, there has been a colossal upsurge among the prodigies discussing the pros and cons of tourism in under developed countires. Some people think that tourism generates numerous problems for developing countires, while others maintain that tourism has excessive advantages. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in developing countries.

At the outset, there are myriad of arguments associated with the advantages of tourism. Firstly, the most conspicuous is that the tourism allows more influx of money and creates more job oppurtunities for the local population. Not only tourism generates more employment ventures but also it boosts the economy of a country. For instance, economies of countries like Thailand, Indonesia and Bali are heavily dependent on tourism industry. As a result, it is quite evident that excessive benefits are associated with tourism.

On the other hand, there exists another pivotal facet of tourism which entails heavy burden on the government. Therefore, the governments of under developing countries will be required to fulfill the basic necessities and commodities of their citizens as well as the tourists. For example, governments will have to ensure provisioning of standard food, accommodation, water and electricity for the tourists to keep this business sector alive. As a matter of fact, tourism also imposes heavy burden on the local government.

To recapitulate, foregoing discussion propounds that the boosting of economy and generation of more job ventures by tourism in developing countries make the advantages triumph over disadvantages.