If Voting Is Compulsory In A Democratic Society, What Conclusions Can We Draw About Nature Of Democracy?

Some countries made voting compulsory and every voter must cast their vote in every election. Other countries where voting is not compulsory are also started looking to make voting mandatory for every eligible citizen. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss in detail why compulsory voting is helpful for society.

To start with, compulsory voting is good for social development as every citizen contributes to development indirectly by choosing the right candidate. In this case, citizens also take care of their country by voting in favour of a party which has good future plans for the country. Also, citizen feels an attachment with the nation as they know that he or she voted for the betterment of the society.

In addition, this type of democracy is known as people-driven democracy as people choose their leaders directly. And the government is formed with a clear mandate and nobody can question that the majority of citizen do not favour the government. Representatives are answerable to the voters. Some countries have the law to recall a representative if he or she is not working as expected.

To conclude, I can say that every country must implement the law to make voting compulsory. Democracy is not completed if every voter does not cast their vote.