Schools should prepare students for university, rather than for work. How far do you agree with this statement?

Today, academic education for children and teenager is paramount for achieving success in one's life. Many people believe that academic education prepares the student only to pursue higher education in university and does not provide them with necessary job skills which are in demand to earn income. This essay will discuss the importance of teaching job skills for the students.

Today a child starts attending school from the age of three and passes his high school at the age of 17.During these years children are taught lots of theoretical subjects like language, math, science and social studies. After studying these subjects, the student will only have gained knowledge which helps him in appears for exams to get admission in university. I have seen many people pursuing higher education to get an admission in university where they teach the students job specific skills. Once, they graduate from university many student get high paying jobs. Perhaps, school should prepare students for universities.

Many people are of the opinion that school should prepare the students with job skills. They say that if this helps students to find jobs and support their family in case they are unable to pursue higher education. The university fees are so high that many people cannot afford the fees. I have seen my neighbor working with his father and brother to support his family since they were not well-off. Hence, when school teaches students job skills, they will be able to support their families. These skills also come handily for part-time students in paying their college fees themselves.

This essay discussed how beneficial it can prove to the student if they are taught job skills in school. They will be self-dependent to finance their education and also support the family.