Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Sending students for learning is becoming a trend. Someone suggest that students who are in colleges and universities should stay at least a semester for studying in abroad. However, without considering the economic condition and the possible to realize their purpose, this recommendation is not wise.

To begin with, studying abroad is expensive for most families. The requirement of students go abroad will be a significant economic burden for parents. Most families are mid-classes or poorer ones. Not considering the airplane tickets, just tuition and living cost equal to almost the whole income of family for five years in China. When they have not enough money in foreign country, students may eat two meals a day and not buy many books. Under the poor condition, they would not concentration to their studies. Because two meals a day cannot provide enough energy for them. And without enough books, they have no opportunity to read books, preparing for courses. Consequently, they would not study well in a foreign country, which do not fulfill their purpose to go abroad.

Admittedly, learning advanced technology is one of the most aims for going abroad. Such as American and Europe countries, most of leading scientists work in their universities. However, students who just learn little knowledge in universities, how could they learn the advanced knowledge. It is not realistic. If a freshman who is major in statistical, he just finished the course of math. When he as an exchange student to study in Harvard university, even the top scholars teach him, he only study the basic knowledge in statistical, which have no difference in studying in his own country. Without the large of basement of knowledge, a person will not make clear of the advanced technology. Especially for students at universities, most of them might not reach the least of requirement to learn advanced technology. Therefore, to learn advanced knowledge is not easy to realize for universities’ students.

In sum, for most students, who without enough financial support and knowledge basement, learning abroad would be not fit for them.