The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

While it may be true that “Shakespeare in the Park” program rises profits of “Classical Shakespeare Theatre”, this author’s argument does not make a logical case for increasing the audiences based on ‘Free Plays in the Park’. It is easy to perceive why there was a decline in the number of audience, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to lunch the program.

The director’s report that there has been a decline in the production over the past decade is not clear enough in terms of population and the reasons. For instance, the...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.