The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A letter to the head of tourism bureau, on the island of Tria, addressed the threat to tourism caused by the erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island. The arguer has suggested a few measures that can be put in place to help the tourism industry on Tria Island over a long term. According to the arguer, there may be an initial resentment to the measures, by the tourists, but on a longer run, it will prove beneficial to Tria Island. The measures suggested by the arguer seem convincing on the first glance, although a close examination might unearth a few alternate possibilities that might undermine the arguer's position.

Firstly, the arguer suggests that the island of Tria should charge tourists who use the beach. According to him, it might annoy the tourists in the short term, but it will raise money to replenish the sand lost due to erosion. The arguer seems confident about such an approach, and that it will generate enough money to replenish the lost sand. The arguer fails to consider the possibility in which the number of tourists, visiting the island of Tria decreases and ultimately ceases. If such a situation occurs, due to the the tourist's displeasure of having to pay for using the beach, it may so happen that there would be not enough money collected to replenish the sand on the beaches of Tria, moreover they might even loose the tourists who visit Tria. Such a situation calls into question, the plausibility of the arguer's suggestion, regarding replenishment of sand on the beaches of Tria.

Secondly, the arguer has stated that replenishing the sand will help protect the buildings near the shores of Tria. The arguer bolsters his claim by citing similar measures taken by a nearby island Batia and the success they achieved with such an approach. The arguer fails to present the geographical similarities between the island of Batia and Tria. It might be the case that the buildings, in the island of Tria are not affected by the severe storms that it encounters. It might be possible that the buildings are susceptible to other forms of natural calamities. As a result, it might happen that replenishing that sand, on the beaches of Tria has not helped protect the buildings present along the shore of the island. Such a situation would affect the tourism in Tria and undermine the arguer's position.

Lastly, the arguer has stated that tourism on the island of Tria will improve over the long run. The arguer fails to quantify the term "long run". It might be the case that long run resembles ten-years or it might resemble fifty-years. If the later situation holds true, the island of Tria might face grave financial repercussions as a result of the loss in tourism, and it would take them a long time to recover from such a financial stress. If this situation comes into fruition, it will seriously affect the arguer's stand, regarding the new proposal.

In sum, the evidence provided by the arguer are erroneous and dubious. They do not bolster the arguer's position, rather they undermine the arguer's suggestion and call into question his reasoning behind such a proposal.