A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument made by the author that the new Captain seafood restaurant which specially serves seafood will be popular and will earn handsomely looks tenable at first glance. However, the conclusion relies on several assumptions for which there is no clear evidence and on terms that lack definition.

First, the author assumes that people like to eat in restaurants who specially serve Sea food. The author does a recent sales study that consumption of sales dishes has increased but families or a group of friends may like to visit a place which serves different types of cuisines and a variety of dishes to other people who do not like sea food.

Also, the writer's assumption that number of two-income families in Bay Area is high is not supported by any study or finding. Additionally, the author assumes that the two-income families who eat more outside food and favour healthful eating would like to have sea food. But the author does not provide any evidence that sea food is a healthy eating option than other food options. Oils and Fats in Fish and other sea foods may not be so healthy to an obese or a heart patient. There is no proof that such families would prefer sea food over other types of cuisines.

The assumption of the writer that sea food at the new Captain Seafood restaurant will be tasty and flavor appreciated by masses is unsupported by any evidence. It is not necessary that if a restaurant specializes in some cuisine, it will be the best food in that area.

The author needs to provide evidence of sea food being a healthy option. he also needs to gather proof from testimony of the customers of other ways to ascertain that the sea food of new Captain Sea food restaurant is better than any other restaurant. He also needs to give proof that there are majority of two income families in bay area. Then authors argument of success of the new restaurant holds true.

To conclude, the authors argument falls because it is not supported properly by valid reasons and evidence. We cannot say for sure that the new sea food restaurant will attract many customers and get the cash counter ringing.